Home page   

Acknowledgments concerning Proconiini project

Many people and funding agencies have been contributing in different ways for the realization of the project concerning the online interactive key to and phylogeny of genera of the tribe Proconiini and evolution of egg-powdering behavior

Funding agencies:

  1. National Science Foundation, grant DEB-0089671, "Evolution of a Novel Ovipositional Behavior in the Neotropical Leafhoper Tribe Proconiini (Insecta: Hemiptera: Cicadellidae)", for C. H. Dietrich & R. A. Rakitov.
  2. National Science Foundation, grant DEB-9978026, "Partnership for Monographic and Phylogenetic Research on Leafhoppers and Treehoppers (Insecta: Hemiptera: Membracoidea)", for C. H. Dietrich & L. L. Deitz.
  3. Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Cientifico e Tecnologico, Proc. 200833-00-6, "Filogenia da Subfamilia Cicadellinae (Insecta: Hemiptera: Cicadellidae), com enfase na tribo Proconiini", for D. M. Takiya.

Collecting permits, logistics, and ethanol specimens:

  1. Eduardo Virla (PROIMI,Argentina)
  2. Gabriel Mejdalani (MNRJ, Brazil)
  3. Joao Spotti-Lopes & Ros‚ngela Marucci (ESALQ, Brazil)
  4. Rodney Cavichioli (DZUP, Brazil)
  5. Man-Miao Yang, Jing-Fu Tsai, Person Huang, & Jen-Yean Liou (NCHU, Taiwan)
  6. Kun-Wei Huang & Mr. Yang (NMNS, Taiwan)
  7. Hsien Tzun Shih (TARI, Taiwan)
  8. Mike Irwin, M. Hauser, Kevin Johnson (INHS, UIUC)
  9. Sydney Cameron & Jim Whitfield (UIUC, USA)
  10. Stu McKamey, Terry Erwin, & Warren Steiner (USNM, USA)
  11. Doug Yanega (UCR, USA)\
  12. Norm Penny (CAS, USA
  13. Paul Freytag & Mike Sharkey (UKL, USA)
  14. Michael Whiting (BYU, USA)
  15. Gustavo Moya-Raygoza (UDG, Mexico)
  16. Pedro Lozada (SENASA, Peru)
  17. Gerardo Lamas, Juan Grados, & Carlos PeŮa B. (MUSM, Peru)
  18. Jason Cryan (NYSM, USA)

Comments, characters, literature, and photographs for interactive key:

  1. Chris Dietrich, Roman Rakitov, Jamie Zahniser, Natasha Novikova (INHS, USA)
  2. Jean-Michel Maes (Museo Entomologico, Nicaragua)
  3. Rodney Cavichioli (DZUP, Brazil)
  4. Marco Aurelio R. Mello (UniCamp, Brazil)
  5. Eduardo Virla (PROIMI, Argentina)
  6. Sean McCann (Florida Medical Entomology Lab, USA)
  7. Gernot Kunz (Universitšt Graz, Austria): please visit his many other stunning pictures at his website!
  8. Steve Marshall (University of Guelph, Canada)
  9. K. G. Andy Hamilton (CanaColl, Canada)